Skip to content

Camp Lotsafun Part Deux

07/12/2015

Session 2 is in the books and I’m noticing a trend, broken down by days as follows:

Sunday: Counselors arrive. Get set. Read bios. Enjoy the quiet, the scenery, the chance to read and journal and sketch before…

Monday: Crazy. Thoughts like, I can’t do it happen. I forget my campers’ names. I am annoyed at the necessary task of moving STUFF. I can’t wait to already be settled in and programming.

Tuesday: This is what the week will look like. We are on a schedule, in a groove. We make cabin rules and are following them for the most part, with some reminders. I’m learning my group. We get our first rest time. I love me some rest time.

Wednesday: I know my guys, I know what they like, what they don’t like, who wanders, who doesn’t, who is the helper, who is in his own zone, who is excited to be at camp, who is pining for Saturday. It’s easy to be together and the schedule is our happy king. We are a team, moving together everywhere. We also know where to find the cookies and how to bribe the Cabin Fairy. Shhh.

Thursday:  We are gellin’. We have inside jokes. It’s easy. We aren’t thinking about Saturday. We are just thinking about whether we will do bike riding, basketball, drama, karaoke, Arts and Crafts, hiking or beach. Good choices to have on a beautiful summer day at Eagle Lake.

Friday: We feel we’ve been here at least two weeks. The idea of going home is sad and happy.  The cabin smells like feet, farts, and BO. Despite daily showers. We’ve accepted it. It’s our smell, the smell of our Cabin 8 team.

Saturday: I’m home already in my mind. I’m trying to be fully present but once again dealing with STUFF. My mind’s eye can see the Starbucks in Susanville, can see me in it, ordering a Grande caramel machiatto. Making the big decision of hot or iced. It also knows I may never see my guys again and wants me to come back to the now. Saturday is an exercise in mindfulness. The week goes by fast and slow at the same time.

This post, I thought I’d list some of the things I learned from campers during Session 2.

I learned….

  • How to draw Inspector Gadget.
  • The 2005 Dr. Who is better.
  • When making cocoa or tea, double the packets or bags. Always.
  • My plan to hide in a boat on a lake during the Zombie Apocalypse will not work because zombies can swim and stack, and plus they don’t breathe because they are dead so water is no big deal. So. New plan needed, but not offered by these guys.
  • If you want someone to feel like they are part of your tribe, give them a new name. Please just call me Tamika from now on.
  • If you are driving somewhere and you see cows lying down, it means a storm is coming.
  • It’s good to get to work an hour early so you can chill and drink coffee and get ready. I bet I never actually follow this very good advice.
  • You can play a Draw 2 card on top of Draw 2 card in Uno, making the next person draw 4, or 6, or 8, etc. This is not Camp Uno Rules, but REAL UNO RULES.
  • The Backstreet Boys and In Sync broke up. Why? We don’t know.
  • John Lennon and George Harrison are dead. Paul McCartney is a vegetarian.
  • John Wilkes Booth killed Lincoln. And Reagan was not, in fact, shot; he died of Alzheimer’s, and don’t try to say anything different. Just. Don’t. Even.
  • You are never too old to get your picture taken with Smokey the Bear.
  • Don’t compare yourself to anyone else.
  • Given the chance to tip a canoe on purpose, dumping your counselor into the lake, you must do it. You must.
  • If your friend is sad, you must go over, put your hand on his shoulder, compliment him on his awesome personality, and tell him it’s okay to cry.

What they learned from me? It’s very polite to go pass gas outside in nature. I’m sure there is more but that’s the one that comes to mind at the moment.

One more session on the horizon. I am going to enjoy this home week, finish my list of things to do, walk dogs, read books, journal, and watch lots of Netflix. Can’t wait for Session 3!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/13/2015 1:42 am

    I know exactly which guy schooled you on what!

  2. Leslie Payne aka Tristen's mom. permalink
    07/15/2015 1:40 am

    Just. Don’t. Even. Lol!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

