Skip to content

Word Study: Disenthrall

03/09/2014

disenthrall: To free from a controlling force or influence

Let’s study like we need new vocabulary words to better our test scores: disenthrall. Lincoln used “disenthrall” when he wrote the Emancipation Proclamation. As in disenthrall ourselves from the dogmas of the past. He says, “we must disenthrall ourselves and then we shall save our country.” Ken Robinson refers to Lincoln in his book Out of Our Minds, Learning to be Creative. I wrote this down, thinking, this is deep, I should write about this: “We all live our lives guided by ideas to which we are devoted but which may no longer be true or relevant. We are enthralled by them.” I’m interested in Robinson’s theory that schools stifle creativity, but currently I’m interested in that exact quote, about what I am enthralled with.

My life has not followed the exact path that my childhood rules taught me to be enthralled with. Good thing.  I was raised to be devoted to and guided by these ideas: get a good-paying job that does not involve being a writer or an artist; stay with it until you are 65 when you will then be able to quit working and write, travel, and make art; find a good man and get married, and while you are married cook, clean, and take care of him (right? WTF?); own your home; don’t do or buy things you can’t afford, ever;  be sensible; don’t do things that make other people uncomfortable; don’t get fat; don’t get old; don’t do things that would cause you to die young; follow all the rules all the time; and do things like graduate college, have kids, and retire at the right times only.

Here’s what I’d like to become disenthralled with:  all of the above.  Ignore the rules, do what I want, when I want, because I want to. I’m still working on it, but I don’t plan to quit that goal.

And by the way…

Sir Ken Robinson’s 3 Rules for Being a Great Leader

1. Adopt a growth mind-set

“If you’re always thinking about possibility, you’ll find it. You’ll keep creating the future.”

2. Create your own life

“The ‘element’ is where natural aptitude meets personal passion. It’s great if you’re in your element at work, because you get energy from that. But for people who aren’t, finding this elsewhere is important.”

3. Unlock others

“People get locked into their job descriptions. If you create a culture where they feel encouraged to unleash their various talents, they’re more engaged.”

My current read: Daring Greatly by Brene Brown. She rocks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/09/2014 6:45 pm

    This is where I am right now. I am in the process of not so much letting go of the fear (I think that’s impossible), but moving forward anyway and telling the fear “Yeah, I understand. This is scary, but I’m in charge here, okay?”

    • 03/10/2014 12:37 pm

      I agree that letting go of the fear is impossible, but analyzing the thoughts about fear, that is possible. I love ” I’m in charge here.” Bam, you are!

Leave a Reply

