Skip to content

How I Spent My Summer Vacation

09/21/2013

Here’s what happened. I got the whole summer off and I filled all of my time with fun. I camped at D.L. Bliss, stood up on a wakeboard on the Sacramento River, visited my best friend in Atascadero, wrote messages in the sand at Pismo Beach, rollerbladed UNR, hiked the Rubicon Trail, swam in the freezing cold water at Lester Beach in Tahoe, kayaked the bay and ate breakfast at the Coffee Pot in Morro Bay, rafted down the Truckee River on a blow-up mattress, got engaged while watching fireworks over the city of Cayucos, did every single ride at the water park (some required drinking alcohol first), slept under the stars, played Frisbee while listening to an outdoor concert at UNR, saw the Dirty Heads at the Knit in Reno, went rock climbing at Rock Sport, did some day drinking (more than once), and wrote two chapters and one long essay after Angi made me my own writing space (LOVE).  I could call my blogging hiatus “collecting experiences for writing,” but really I just thoroughly enjoyed what felt like such a well-deserved break, and I purposely did not blog.

Now I’ve got a new job at a new school. I love my kids and the work so much, but I am completely overwhelmed – in a good way. In a million-kinds-of-potential-to-do-whatever-lessons-I-want (as long as they match curriculum and common core, that is) kind of way. I come home tired out but satisfied. I feel like I finally found a job that settles me, and feeds my soul, and lets me be as creative as I want. What an amazing feeling.

Books I am reading: (I am not capable of reading only one book)

Orange is the New Black by Piper Kirman (not great, but I loved the series on Netflix so I am trying to stay with the book)

Stuffed and Starved by Raj Patel

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi Durrow (the writing is so good)

Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind by Shunryu Suzuki

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield (reread, looking for inspiration)

If you still read the blog, thanks. I’m back.

Wait, did I mention I got my Master’s degree? Yes I did!  No more homework, textbooks, projects, etc. YES!

Be The Change,

Tammy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/21/2013 6:40 am

    GOT ENGAGED OVERLOOKING THE CITY OF CAYUKOS…WTF?! Wasn’t that long ago you were a big cry baby thinking life was over. Turns out you were just warming up and it REALLY is just getting started! 🙂 You accomplished more these past couple of years than most people do in ten.

    Go you!

    • 09/26/2013 1:06 pm

      Gayla, I love that comment. I do remember you telling me it would all be fine in one year. It took longer than a year but it is also more than fine. I miss you!

  2. Nan permalink
    10/07/2013 3:01 am

    So happy for you, Tammy. Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

