Skip to content

How I Spent My Christmas Vacation

01/06/2013

I don’t think I’ve ever had two weeks off at once in my adult life, except when I moved to Reno in 2000 and I was searching for a job. So I felt I must accomplish stuff in order to justify my break (issues, I know). Here are the things I accomplished on my break:

  • Mailed in my teacher licensure packet, which included getting a cashier’s check, fingerprints, official transcripts, and notarized documents. I met some nice people at the Sparks police department. And the Bootie Boy learned new words. Bonus. I hope he forgets them by the time school starts again. After I mailed that packet (certified), and we walked to Vista Mart for a candy bar, I realized my goal of licensure is officially accomplished. I set it for 2012, but I’ll take four days into 2013 and feel fine about it.
  • Got passport photos taken.
  • Went to church with a Buddha in my purse.
  • Organized 2012 files, threw a bunch of crap out, worried about identity theft, let it go.
  • Watched It’s a Wonderful Life and made soup on Christmas day.
  • Visited my friends and their new puppy.
  • Went to Six Flags, visited my brother in Petaluma, ate pizza and the best garlic bread in the history of time at Tra Vigne in St. Helena with my sweet family, shopped and bought four books and a CD in a bookstore in Healdsburg, and met a cool new friend.
  • Downloaded new iTunes, received two burned CDs, made a CD for the Bootie Boy and my friend O, and loved some old music all over again (Jimmy Buffet, Indigo Girls, Rory Block, Violent Femmes, Sting, and Van Morrison. Rock on.)
  • Made a homemade birthday card.
  • Made and gifted biscotti.
  • Went to the park twice, the library twice, Starbucks twice, World Market twice, and Powell’s candy store twice. Anything worth doing is worth doing twice.
  • Bought new capes for Run Amuck 2013.
  • Worried about money.
  • Slept in. Until 7:30. Hey, that’s sleeping in for me.
  • Helped the Bootie Boy become a Ninja.
  • Watched Youtube videos.
  • Discovered how rad a Kindle in fact is. Downloaded books and movies, yes!
  • Went sledding in the park.
  • Walked to the Vista Mart. Walked to Safeway. Walked to My Favorite Muffin. Walked to Red Box to get The Lorax and Madagascar 3. Walked to do Red Box returns.
  • Read, wrote, did laundry, cleaned house, hosted a Christmas shindig, watched lots of episodes of Good Luck Charlie and Mighty B, and enjoyed coffee and couch time like crazy.
  • Let the dog in. Let the dog out. Let the dog in. Let the dog out. Let the dog in. Let the dog out. Flipped the dog off. Apologized to the dog. Gave the dog a treat.
  • Vowed to quit coffee. Remembered that I like myself and my coworkers too much to quit coffee. Made a cup of coffee to celebrate this revelation.
  • Ate warm Dutch apple pie right out of the box with plastic forks outside of Ikeda’s with the Bootie Boy. Best pie ever.
  • Cried over stuff I can’t control. Laughed outloud over farts, amusement park rides, and farts. What can I say, Bootie Boy and Uncle Bootie Boy got together. It’s how they bond. Thanks to some awful cheesy fries at Six Flags, I joined in. Good time had by all.
  • Booked a campsite at D.L. Bliss for three days in July. By the lake. Can’t wait.
  • Made three 2013 goals, none of which have anything to do with working out or writing or letting go. Yay me. Goals: Get to Italy, get my Master’s degree, and get out of debt. These goals may conflict with each other, but whatevs.

What I did not do: work. I have one more day, so tomorrow is football, cooking and lesson planning day. Can’t wait to get back to school.

Happy New Year!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicki permalink
    01/06/2013 5:10 am

    Super excited to star in your blog! What? It’s not all about me? Damn, I hate when that happens. Hope you are loving the music and the books. More awesome garlic bread, less nasty cheesy fries. Peace.

    • 01/06/2013 4:25 pm

      You are sweet. It was so great hanging out with you. I am totally digging My Ideal Bookshelf right now. Thanks for inspiring me. I’m sure many great times are ahead for all of us! Happy 2013!

  2. sharon weir permalink
    01/06/2013 4:23 pm

    Congratulations !!!! I loved this post. Welcome to the world of education. Work your fool head off when school’s in session, figure out how NOT to work your fool head off when you aren’t. Think about everything in between…. ha ha ha

    • 01/08/2013 1:27 am

      I guess it’s all about finding balance. Tough though, I always have more planning and work to do. I’m always looking for that next awesome great plan!

  3. 01/07/2013 4:57 pm

    Whew I am tired just reading all that.

    Love you have a grreat new year.

Leave a Reply

