Skip to content

The Intern Got a Job!

10/26/2012

Today I went to the district office and got fingerprinted and got my picture ID. Before that I was at my new school, where I received keys and new hire paperwork, and met all the staff. This morning I said goodbye to my kids at my internship school, this afternoon I introduced myself to the new kids at the new school. I can’t believe I have an ID that says teacher on it. Throughout this journey, I’ve wanted to quit many times. But when I am in the classroom with my kids, I know I am right where I belong. I absolutely love the kids, and I love to be a part of their learning and progress. So yes, I have keys, I have a badge, and I have a school to show up to on Monday. And Ill just say that it’s never too late to make a change, or pursue a new dream. It’s going to be awesome.

As far as books go, I’m going back to The Book Thief. I was trying to read some Deepak Choprah, but it’s too much. Sometimes all that “none of this is really real” stuff kind of doesn’t work for me. I mean, it sure feels real. If I don’t pay my power bill, the cold in the house is real. Ya, it won’t matter in one hundred years, but it sure as hell matters now. I may not be enlightened enough for Deepak. But The Book Thief, ya, sign me up.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    10/26/2012 1:11 pm

    Congrats! The monkey and I are so very proud of you! You will be an amazing teacher!

    • 10/26/2012 3:56 pm

      Thanks so much! I can’t wait to start. The Bootie Boy will like to hear new stories about the new school I’m sure 🙂 Thanks for all of your support!

  2. 10/26/2012 3:24 pm

    Congratulations. Where is your new school? grades? Have a great year !!!

    • 10/26/2012 3:56 pm

      Dunn. K and 1. Hee Hee, the smalls, they are so cute. I do get a 5th grade literacy block, so yay for that too!

  3. Tim permalink
    10/26/2012 3:35 pm

    Congrats sis you did it! Strong work! Lots of Love–Tim

  4. 10/26/2012 3:45 pm

    Woot woot, I am soooo proud of you!!! Congrats.

  5. Nataie permalink
    10/26/2012 4:41 pm

    What an amazing end to such an incredible journey! I am SOOOOOOOOO proud of you! You will be an amazing teacher! 🙂

  6. Judy Harrison permalink
    10/27/2012 2:54 pm

    Yay Tammy,
    I decided to check out your blog and got the great news I didn’t hear at school! Good for you! Judy Harrison

    • 11/04/2012 12:42 am

      Hey, thanks so much for checking it out! Yes, week 1 was great, but I do miss everyone at SWE.

  7. 10/28/2012 3:44 am

    Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yaaaayyyy!

  8. 11/06/2012 4:36 pm

    Hip, hip, hooray! So proud of you, and so very happy for you. I’m with you on Deepak–many in yoga community call him yoga-lite. If you want relevant, go to any of Pema Chodron’s books. I’m eating up her newest one, Living Beautifully with Uncertainty and Change. It is SO speaking to me right now, and am sharing it with my students & friends.

Leave a Reply

