Skip to content

People Who Know Everything – I Don’t Like You Very Much

08/22/2012

All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

You know those people who know everything? Who have a story that is always better than your story? Who tell you things you know are impossible, just so they can be superior and make you feel bad? Normally I see right through those people. I even think to myself, “I’ll let you play that game since you need it so badly, but I know that you really are just full of shit.” Pretty smug of me I know. Maybe it’s my Karma, but I had to co-teach with that person who knows everything yesterday and she kind of shook me off my game.  Up until now, I have been thinking that while I have a lot to learn about teaching, I have some innate abilities that will help me be successful. Things like a good sense of humor, a calm demeanor, the ability to not take myself too seriously, life experience (translation: kind of old. Question: How old are you Ms. Brocker? Answer: I cannot disclose that information at this time. Get back to work.), and of course love of learning and love of the students. I was even telling myself that being short is an advantage because short=non-threatening.

So then, the person who knows everything came in and kind of schooled me with all of her super confident I-was-already-a-student-teacher-and-now-I’m-an-awesome-substitute-teacher attitude. She took over the whole deal and wouldn’t butt out of my groups. I began to feel about 2 feet tall and walked all over. But, the role of the student teacher is to observe, do what you are told, and absorb the information like a little sponge. So, while the voice in my head was thinking, “Man, I am not that confident, will I ever be like that?” Or “Do I need to have that teacher voice that sounds like I’m talking to a 2-year old to be hired?”  What I was really asking myself was, Is my way going to be okay too? Is my personality going to match with this job? Can I actually do this?

I think it’s true that you can learn something from everyone, and from the person who knows everything I learned that if you think you already know everything then there is no room to learn more. And teachers need to be able to constantly add to their bank of knowledge. I also learned that nobody wants to hear you say that most of the time you forget to eat until 4 or 5:00 p.m. and that you hate sugar. It’s kind of like saying that your back hurts from carrying around all of your $100 bills. People just don’t want to hear it. Especially people like me, who haven’t missed a meal since ‘Nam and who now and then eat vanilla frosting for dinner.  Your perfectly crafted, albeit fake life just turns us off. And we definitely don’t want to friend you, in real life or cyberly.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/22/2012 3:53 am

    You’re my hero 🙂 And you are a rock star – forget the know-it-all, she sucks.

  2. 08/22/2012 4:08 am

    Vanilla frosting? Oh no, no, no… Chocolate!

  3. 08/22/2012 7:50 am

    glad you’re still blogging. love this post!

Leave a Reply

