Skip to content

I’m in Love with the Job That Pays Me Nothing

07/25/2012

Love. Love.Love. I feel like I am right where I am supposed to be. I love the kids, I love the crazy schedule, I love walking around the school and seeing all of the kids on our caseload. I even love lunch duty.

School feels like home. Back when I first started volunteering at an elementary school for Read and Succeed, I felt like I was coming home every time I stepped into the school. Then my hour with the kids would be over, and I had to go back to the life that increasingly felt so much not like me: sitting at a desk all day long pretending to care about math, money, metrics, the mark up, the mark down, and customer satisfaction. Now I’ve come home to my true self, and I get to stay at my work home every day for eight hours. I don’t miss the work I used to do (although I do miss my people). Every day I am inspired, every night I go home and I want to learn more, read more, and get ready for the next day. I hope teaching stays like that for that for me.

I’m glad I ignored the fear so that I could meet these kids, these teachers, and go home to this school every day for the next fourteen weeks. I think you are supposed to feel this happy at work. You are supposed to be inspired and challenged, and feel what Tony Robbins calls growth and contribution.  And if you aren’t, you look until you find it somehow.

“When I dare to be powerful – when I use my strength in the service of my vision, then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid.” – Audre Lorde

“The only courage you ever need is the courage to live your own dream.” – Oprah

“Ask yourself if you are in your own truth.” – Martha Beck

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/25/2012 2:35 pm

    Oh, Tammy–three cheers for being in the place where you belong! SO happy for you. Check out this link to some very wise words from my friend & teacher, Robin Rothenberg: http://www.stepintoauthenticity.com/robin-rothenberg/

    Sending big hugs, and hoping you still stay in touch with our special girl in Reno, who values your friendship so much.

    • 07/28/2012 1:17 am

      Cool, loved the link. Thanks so much! I’ll still stay in touch, nerd lunches and coffee – it’s what we do!

  2. 07/25/2012 4:13 pm

    I am sooo jealous… I mean happy for you!! I have looked my entire life for that job, I found it twice, but one closed their doors and the other moved to Vegas, way TOO HOT there. I am close now, at least I don’t dread coming to work every day, that is a big plus. I am so proud of you, faces the scarey stuff and following your dream

    I miss your face
    Love You

    • 07/28/2012 1:15 am

      Thanks so much. I miss your face too! Can’t garage sale Saturday but could go on Sunday! I need a lamp. Plus random stuff I won’t know I can’t live without until I see it available for $1.

  3. Maja permalink
    07/25/2012 4:35 pm

    I am so happy for you! The Corporate World is just not the same without your humor, but I am so glad you are following your dreams. I will live vicariously through you!

    • 07/28/2012 1:14 am

      Ya, I have to be careful at school. One of the kids told me he was out next week. I said “where to?” He said “juvenile hall” (6th graders are really cool.) I said, “okay, don’t teach them anything new there.”

  4. Nataie permalink
    07/25/2012 7:43 pm

    My dearest sister and friend~
    There is nothing in this world that you of all people cant accomplish. I am so proud to say that I know someone who has the strength and confidence to go into something so scary and terrifying ( for some people ) and fall in love with all that it offers you. You deserve all the happiness and rays of sunshine that this world has to offer! P.S. I miss you a lot and would really like to have some waffle cookies, or Oatmeal ( no raisins of course ), or really anything baked by you…Lol. I love you!

    **Me**

    • 07/28/2012 1:12 am

      Oh Nataie, I really want some of those waffly cookies right now too! Soon I will make some. Thanks so much for your support. NO raisins, of course, that’s just weird…. Who does that when chocolate chips are available EVERYWHERE….

  5. 07/26/2012 9:35 pm

    Congratulations. I am delighted you followed your heart and found your soul. I know you will make some wonderful contributions to many, many lives. May you always find unrequited joy in the new world you have wakened into. Hugs.

  6. 07/27/2012 12:41 am

    Be The Rock Star sista, be The Rock Star…you’re helping mold the little Rock Stars of tomorrow and that’s as awesome a contribution to society as there is.

    • 07/28/2012 1:09 am

      Could be scary, me molding little rock stars! Week 1 included 1 puke on the table and 1 poop in the pants (not me by the way), 2 kids missing busses, 5 capri suns needing straws, 20 “can I go to the bathroom?,” 20 more “can I get a drink?” 40 “yes you may”s, and a partridge in a pear tree. Lots of paperwork, lots of dipping into candy bowls, and lots of laughs. It’s definitely NOT boring!

  7. 07/27/2012 2:03 am

    I’m so happy to hear you are so happy and that you get to shine! Here’s another quote for ya:

    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?” ~ Marianne Williamson

    Go. Be fabulous!

    • 07/28/2012 1:03 am

      It did go to spam! I love that quote, it’s one of my favorites 🙂 Fear is a big theme in my life right now 🙂

  8. 07/27/2012 11:37 pm

    I left a comment yesterday, but think it went to the Spam filter since it just disappeared. Can you go look and see if it’s there? Anyhoo, I just wanted to let you know I’m very happy that you are living your dream.

Leave a Reply

