Skip to content

The Post of Full Disclosure – Don’t Judge Me. Or Do. I Don’t Mind.

07/05/2012

I shop at Walmart, even though I know it’s controversial. I know employees are denied insurance, but isn’t it like that everywhere? I may switch to Smith’s, but I’m really not sure that where I shop will create better working conditions for people. And my real reason for switching to Smith’s is better produce, yummy cinnamon bread, and better health food selection. The employees there do seem happier, but I really hate self check out. Oh well.  

I like Corona, Shock Top, Landshark, Blue Moon, and Dos Equis (stay thirsty my friends), and my favorite wine is Rare Red from Trader Joe’s. Not too pricey, super yummy.

Every time I see the word heuristic I have to look it up. I still don’t quite know what it means.

I’m addicted to Desperate Housewives on Netflix. I am currently on Season 3, and I wish I had written the show myself. So fun. I can’t talk about it with anyone because I’m at least five years past when it was cool. Oh well, I can talk to myself about it. I don’t need you people.

I have wanted to write a book my whole life, but I get bored with my own ideas.

I am really happy to eat cold pizza, cold pie, or the corner piece of kid birthday cake for breakfast. Every day of my life if you don’t mind. Thanks.

I am unable to quit coffee, and when I try, my friends, family and coworkers beg me to go away and return only after I caffeinate.

I could stand to lose a few pounds, but the older I get the more I congratulate myself on my physique. My standards are getting lower as time goes on, which is probably best, given factors like gravity and metabolism. And Rare Red.

I haven’t gone for a run in about 4 weeks, but in my mind I still call myself a runner.

Technically I’m over the hill, although in many ways I still feel like I just turned 23. Looking back, 23 was a great age for me. As was 11, and 17 and, well, almost all of the ages really. Optimists are annoying, aren’t they?

I’m kind of bored with the internet, but I really like the minimalist blogs. I wonder if buying a book on minimalism is an oxymoron. Please hold while I look up oxymoron. Okay, it’s not that, it might be ironic, but I’m not the type of person to point out ironies. I just propose buying less stuff and donating more stuff and generally not allowing the stuff rule my life. And perhaps a garden. Yes.

I judge people who value their stuff too much, but I also judge people who judge people. So, I’m working on that.

My son told me I’m not the kind of mommy who cares about being pretty, and I laughed out loud. I told him chicks don’t really dig statements like that, just for future reference.

I only have one more week at my job and then I’m off to uncertainty and student teaching. I’m freaking out a little slightly, but it’s a now-or-never proposition. And I don’t like never. I won’t miss my sedentary desk job, but I will miss my people. Quitting a secure job is probably not smart, but I think sometimes you have to do dumb things and see what happens. Play that back to me when I’m too poor to buy coffee. Thanks.

Part of me thinks that being stranded on a desert island might be really nice, as long as I had books and there were no wild animals, snakes, or spiders. Add an abandoned coffee shop with a rockin’ espresso machine and a freezer full of ice cream, and I’d be set. Can you say espresso a la mode and me finally reading Middlemarch? I can, yes I can.

I go on Facebook to remind myself how rad I am because I don’t care about 90% of the stuff people get all pissed about. Then I log off, and feel superior. Once again, judging the judgers. Is that ironic? Damn, I still don’t know.

Fun:  http://substanceoverstuff.com/

And: “Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn’t really do it, they just saw something. It seemed obvious to them after a while. That’s because they were able to connect experiences they’ve had and synthesize new things.” – Steve Jobs (rocked)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/05/2012 10:55 pm

    I will buy you coffee!!! Always.

  2. Nataie permalink
    07/06/2012 10:42 pm

    When will you ever just write your book already!!! I love getting lost in your writting style…its like your in my brain and putting on paper all the things that I think, but you say it in such a funnier way! I seriously read and reread your blog….PUHLEEZE just write the book already sister girl! BTW – I will always bring you coffee if you promise waffle cookies!

    • 07/08/2012 3:10 pm

      I just told Tommy this morning I am ready to make some of the waffley cookies, as you like to call them! I’ll let you know. Thanks for your sweet comments, I am trying to recommit to weekly posting so that will rev up the writing!

  3. 07/06/2012 10:53 pm

    About that leaving part . . . will there be cake in the vendateria?

    Gonna miss you but so happy you’re following your heart.

  4. 07/07/2012 4:07 am

    Congrats on taking the leap, I will try not to judge you for that one!!!!! Psst people, only she will understand that sarcastic comment….You will, won’t you???
    I particularly love your son (I have grandchildren that call me Crazy Grandma), Save this piece for the Pen….when are you available for lunch???

    • 07/08/2012 3:11 pm

      Ha ha. We can’t talk about the leap…. but we can do lunch. I’m only available next week a few days, after that no more lunch time except on weekends! I’ll email you…

  5. Vicki permalink
    11/21/2012 10:57 pm

    reading your blog posts make so many things clearer to me about my own life. We should meet in real life and talk about how one day we are going to read Middlemarch…because I am so g
    oing to read that motherf**cker one day…

    • 11/22/2012 7:40 pm

      I really did laugh out loud. You can’t call Middlemarch a motherf**cker! Maybe we can make a Middlemarch book club…. Thanks for reading, we will meet in real life one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

