Skip to content

One Bag Each (Part 1)

02/17/2012
tags:

I have been reading a few minimalist blogs lately (2012, my year of letting go!) so I am trying an experiment: minimalist travel. Tomorrow the Bootie Boy and I are off to San Diego to see my brother and his sweet family, and we each get one back pack to take with us. That’s it. At first when I proposed this idea to the boy he said, “Sure, sounds good, but can I bring the blue roll-y bag too? I need my robe and Long Blue (his blanket) and Fluffy Dog (his stuffed dog who is bigger than our real dog), and…” the list was long. I told him two bags is not one bag. He said, “Hmmm. Right. Well, can I at least bring my Spooner?” I conceded to the Spooner as long as he carries it. In case you are curious, a Spooner looks like this:

So here is the packing list:

Me:

Mind and Soul: I am taking my journal, the  current letter I am writing to my Atascadero friend,2 pens, one pencil, one article/assignment for school (no laptop, no textbooks), two books: Vagabonding and Journal of a Novel, ipod, phone and charger, boarding passes, wallet, cash.

Body: travel size shampoo, conditioner, contact solution, toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, deodorant, soap, glasses and contact case, travel Clorox wipes (cooties!), shorts, one long sleeve and one short sleeve t-shirt, flip flops, underwear, pajamy pants, socks, water bottle, canvas rucksack for day use.

The Bootie:

Mind and Soul: The boy will take his DS with a few games, ipod, Diary of a Wimpy Kid book, journal (“it’s a journal, not a diary”), crayons and pencils, his new Who Would Win animal battle books, Would You Rather cards, and whatever toys he can fit in his backpack after I put clothes in. And Long Blue. He has never slept a night without Long Blue, so, there you have it.

Body: toothbrush and toothpaste, flossers, extra pants (one pair), shorts, one long sleeve and one short sleeve shirt, pajamy pants, 2 pairs underwear (he would not mind at all going 4 days with the same underwear, but good to be prepared I say), socks, water bottle. Carseat (“Not the purple one Mom.” Noted)

Is this possible? I will report back.

http://www.becomingminimalist.com/

http://www.theminimalists.com/

http://mnmlist.com/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/18/2012 12:33 am

    I’m planning a trip (I hope) to D.C. in March. I would love nothing more than to not have to check a bag. I’m trying to figure out how I am going to be able to haul the camera stuff and still have room for clothes. ;>

  2. 02/18/2012 12:59 am

    you minimalist travelers have fun!!!

  3. 02/18/2012 7:53 pm

    Oh, this is a really good challenge. Just ask your friend about my packing anxiety! It is getting better, though, and I’m letting go of LOTS of stuff–even books!

Leave a Reply

