Skip to content

Conversations

11/12/2011

Who knows what the boy might come up with on any given day. His brain is always percolating. Always.

Bootie Boy: “I made this card for you Mom.”

I read the card out loud: Mom. I love you. Cuz you ar nise.  “Thank you buddy, it’s beautiful. You did a great job,” I say.

BB: “The red stuff is blood and the green stuff is slime.”

Me: “Oh, ok.”

BB: “Ya, blood and slime.”

Me: “Well, I love it. Thank you.”

Sometimes the boy comes up with crazy random things.

“Mom, if you ever come up to a black mamba you should not climb a tree, because a black mamba can climb a tree better than you can.”

“Oh, what should I do then?” I ask. I’m game for this what-would-you-do type of scenario. It’s good to be prepared I say.

“Oh, you’re gonna get eaten.”

“Oh, alright. Well , I hope I don’t run into a black mamba.”

It kind of bothers me, knowing there is no hope for me in the black mamba showdown. But then, I’m not really surprised. I mean, I run like a 12 minute mile.

BB: “Mom?”

Me: “Ya buddy?”

BB: “Do you also wish that our back yard was Six Flags, like I do?”

Me: “Hmm, that depends. Will everyone be coming in to use our bathroom or are there bathrooms out there?”

It was in that moment that I felt old, when I answered that way. The boy just looked at me. I learn so much from him. His perspective on the world is unique and bright-eyed and curious. I remember feeling that way as a kid, and really, I still feel that way now. Admittedly not as often. Life shakes it out of you sometimes.

My semester has gone crazy, but I’m reading a really fun book called How They Croaked.

It’s interesting, full of tidbits about the lives (and deaths, of course) of  famous people.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shauna (now) Sanders permalink
    11/12/2011 12:21 am

    i would be equally despondent regarding black mamba showdown outcome and just as concerned about all the people needing to use my restroom. oh wait, that makes me old too 😉

  2. 11/15/2011 12:05 am

    oh, my, black mambas, and Six Flags! What a wonder your guy is….

    Read The Dovekeepers, by Alice Hoffman–really soon! It is amazing.

    • 11/15/2011 6:47 am

      Adding it to my list for December 15th! Right after the my last final, and The Mazerunner…

Leave a Reply

