Skip to content

The Cake Raffle

10/14/2011

At the Fall Festival at the Bootie Boy’s school, there are twelve cool Halloween-themed cakes to be raffled off. We buy two raffle tickets to try to win a cake.  There must be about 100 tickets in the little coffee can. Little Tommy is all excited to win a cake. He keeps asking me when they are going to start pulling tickets. He patiently waits. Finally, at 5:00, they start the raffle, and the boy goes and stands by the cake the wants, an orange pumpkin-shaped one with a green leaf on top, and just STARES at it. The rule is, if your name is called, you can pick any cake you want. Winners are coming up to choose their cakes, but nobody takes the Bootie’s cake. He whispers to me “I’m GUARDING my cake, Mom.” Soon, it’s down to 3 cakes, and a parent decides to move the remaining three cakes to a table by the person choosing tickets and calling out names. The boy moves with his cake. He stands in front of it, staring at it, unblinking. I begin to think, This can’t end well. There are a lot of tickets in the can and we only bought two. Statistics are against us. But still, the boy is there, by his cake, ready to hear his name called. I’m preparing the you can’t always win, let’s go get a Kit Kat speech in my head.

Suddenly, the person pulling tickets and announcing winners comes over to me and whispers in my ear, “What is your boy’s name?” I tell her, and she pulls a ticket. “The winner is… Tommy!”  Of course this is not our ticket. The boy throws his hands up in the air, “Yes! This is the best day of my life!”He picks up his cake, turns to me, and says“Come one Mommy, let’s go.” The whole crowd is smiling.

On the way to the car I tell him, “Dude, you set your intention and you got that cake.” He says, “Ya, I knew I was gonna get one.”  It was an awesome moment.

It reminded me about believing. This boy believed he could win. He didn’t look at all the tickets in the can and decide to give up and hit the road (which is what I wanted to do, to beat the exit traffic, I’ll admit). And I know that he was helped by the kind parent, that his ticket wasn’t actually chosen, but his intensity about winning made it possible. So Tommy has again taught me a lesson, this time about setting your sights on what you want, and not giving up.  And about believing in possibility.

The cake was pretty tasty too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/14/2011 11:39 pm

    Best story of the year…GO BOOTY BOY! Can you hear me smiling?!

  2. 10/15/2011 5:17 pm

    Great story. I am so glad you didn’t have to spring for a Kit Kat!!!!

  3. Debbie permalink
    10/16/2011 5:21 am

    This is absolutely the best!!!

  4. Tim permalink
    10/21/2011 4:31 pm

    Awesome sister, this story made me a little misty.

    • 10/21/2011 7:10 pm

      I’m touched bro. But you are getting a little bit more in touch with your emotions in your old age! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

