Skip to content

What’s in Your Cup of Awesome?

07/13/2011

On the name plaque outside the door of my office at work I have a picture of a “fashion girl” holding a purple purse, drawn by Tommy. I gave the girl a cup of coffee too, because she seemed to need one. The cup says “awesome” on it. My coworker told me the other day, on her way into my office, “Cool, I like your cup of awesome.” That made me smile. I started thinking of my life as a collection things to put in my cup of awesome. I feel very lucky, it would be a very full cup. William Zinsser, in his post on American Scholar.com, talks about the choices he has made in his writing and in his life. He says, “Whatever our age, whatever century we were born in, we are trying to have an interesting life.  I don’t think of my life as a product; it’s a continuing process.” That’s all I really want: an interesting life. More yes’es than no’s.

My cup of awesome so far this summer includes:

  • cruising down the Tortuga slide at Wild Island in a double tube with the bootie boy, singing, “Today I don’t feel like doing anything…” (The Lazy Song; Bruno Mars, you rock) and helping Tommy meet his summer tally of 67 tortuga rides (we are currently at 28)
  • Old Navy T-shirts
  • Sour Skittles
  • 3X3X365 and Tiny Buddha
  • Harry Potter 7.5
  • The person who thought to put a scoop of vanilla ice cream at the bottom of the snow cone
  • The library and all of the awesome programs, including movie and free popcorn night
  • Artown and ballroom dancing demonstrations, as well as the invite to stand up and learn to Tango.  T-A-N-G-O
  • World Cup Soccer
  • Perfect running weather, and friends to run with
  • Backyard soccer and juggling
  • Sonic Slushies
  • Bulleted lists of awesome and the potential to add forever

To be honest, I don’t know if teaching is going to be part of my cup of awesome. I like fonts, books, creativity and writing. All my life I’ve known I wanted to be a writer. I’ve done a lot writing in the form of blog posts, papers for school, and 20 years worth of letters to my dearest friend who lives in Atascadero, California. I wonder what would happen if I really focused on it? Made a daily writing date? Still, I am in summer school, so I’m not giving up yet.

Ivan Illych said, on his death bed, “What if my whole life has been wrong?” I don’t ever want to ask that question. If I live an interesting life, full of awesome, I know I won’t.

 

Reading:  The Element by Ken Robinson

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/14/2011 2:46 am

    All of life is only one decision at a time. Trick is, being conscious of those decisions as you make them. Don’t make them on auto pilot.
    That is all.
    You really can’t make the wrong decision because you are always on a path.
    Happy summer to you, and remember lunch on the patio in August….

  2. 07/14/2011 2:37 pm

    Can’t wait to make my list of cup of awesome! Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Nataie permalink
    07/14/2011 5:08 pm

    Hmmmm My cup of awesome…..You have once again inspired me! Love you sister!

Leave a Reply

