Skip to content

Dear Lady Gaga

06/05/2011

Actually, the fan letter said Dear Gaga. I asked the Bootie Boy, who is learning to write, If he’d like to write a fan letter to Lady GaGa. I told him I could probably find the address online, and we could really send the letter. He was all for it. But then I began to wonder, does anyone still write actual fan letters, like I did to Ricky Schroeder when I was 12, or is it just email, Facebook and Twitter? And would he get anything back if he did not include a self-addressed stamped big envelope as one GaGa fan post instructed?

The letter goes like this (painstakingly written with care, using his right index finger to measure spaces between words):

Dear GaGa – I like yor cloths you wear when you sing on stage. Love Tommy. 

These words took up the entire 8 1/2 by 11  page.

The envelope we sent also includes two fabulously drawn pictures: one of  Tommy with GaGa, and then one of Elton John and Gaga, sitting at the Paws Up dual piano (if you are a Lady GaGa fan, you know the picture).  He also included a picture of LG that he cut out of a magazine, one where she is in the paws up pose.  He wants to get another dog and name it, yes, wait for it, Paws Up. You thought I was gonna say GaGa? He’s a BIG fan. When I left for work the other day I said, “Bye little dude, see you this afternoon.”  And he said, “Paws up, little monsters.” I wish I could let him watch the Monster Ball, but it’s a bit much for a 6 year old.

Lady GaGa, who has recently surpassed Oprah as the most influential woman on the Forbes list for 2011, most likely gets a gazillion letters per year, and will probably not send anything, especially since the SASE was not included, but I think in this life you don’t get anything unless you are willing to ask. For Tommy, it was enough fun to send the letter, and I want him to practice his writing.  But it would be cool if his writing resulted in a piece of mail, addressed to one small boy, who idolizes one very cool performer.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/07/2011 12:01 pm

    Love it! Love Tommy, love your support. What a great Mommy you are! xo

  2. 06/16/2011 3:29 pm

    Sending vibes to GaGa…… 😉

  3. Nataie permalink
    07/28/2011 10:27 pm

    If lady GaGa is smart she will respond because some day my nephew is going to be designing the best dang clothes around and she will want some TOMMY B designs!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

