Skip to content

Bring On The Bake

01/19/2011

The stove is fixed! Imagine this: they showed up when they said they would, fixed it in 10 minutes, and charged $2.50 less than the estimate given over the phone. Awesome. Now I can make the carrot cake to serve with Sunday playoffs. Cuz nothing says football like carrot cake right? I don’t need much in the way of excuses to bake something. More importantly, we can do chicken and French fries. Very important.

School started yesterday and this nerdy non-trad has receded to slacker mode. Books in hand? Not yet! Apparently needed to sign up for a practicum for one of my classes. Oops, blip. The fun part is, the teacher in that class is my advisor. So I was supposed to consult with her. Awkward.

Me: Uh, this practicum was sort of off my radar, is it too late for me to make that happen?
Very Nice Teacher: Who’s your advisor?
Me: Uh, you. But it’s my fault, I thought I had it all set so I did not contact you when I registered.

Here’s the crazy part. She pulls out an email with a contact, flexible schedule, and pay for tutoring. I’m thinking Starbucks money. The real question is, can I tutor a high school student? I fail at Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader, so I’m a little bit concerned. Will report back.

I had intentions of doing a book review of Measure of a Man. All I can say is read it. I know Oprah told us to, but sometimes I don’t like to like her books. This one, I loved it. I felt like Sidney Poitier had gone camping with me, and we were just sitting around the campfire chatting. I’m reading another interesting book called The We Generation by Michael Unger. It’s very inspiring. Maybe that’s why I didn’t get my school books on time, I need an excuse to keep reading what I want! I’m going to get down to 50 books on my shelf. I don’t know how that will work out for me, 50 might be too ambitious. I ‘m trying to think of the library as my bookshelf so that I can purge the books.

My holds:

Barbie in the 12 dancing princesses [DVD videorecording] Your position in the holds queue: 2 of 3 Spanish Springs Library Jul 13, 2012 Active

Barbie. A fashion fairytale [DVD videorecording] Your position in the holds queue: 1 of 1 Spanish Springs Library Jul 13, 2012 Active

Born to run : a hidden tribe, superathletes, and the greatest race the world has never seen Your position in the holds queue: 3 of 3 Spanish Springs Library Jul 14, 2012 Active

Flight plan : how to achieve more, faster than you ever dreamed possible Your position in the holds queue: 1 of 1 Spanish Springs Library Jul 14, 2012 Active

The happiness project : or why I spent a year trying to sing in the morning, clean my closets, fight right, read Aristotle, and generally have more fun Your position in the holds queue: 2 of 3 Spanish Springs Library Jul 20, 2012 Active

The help Your position in the holds queue: 11 of 26 Spanish Springs Library Jul 8, 2012 Active

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt : a novel Your position in the holds queue: 4 of 4 Spanish Springs Library Jul 20, 2012 Active

Squirrel seeks chipmunk : a modest bestiary Your position in the holds queue: 31 of 31 Spanish Springs Library Jul 20, 2012 Active
Twin : a memoir Details Your position in the holds queue: 2 of 2 Spanish Springs Library Jul 20, 2012 Active

If the library is your book shelf you gotta be patient…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

