Skip to content

Csiks and Books

11/04/2010

Checked out there for a while. School is keeping me busy, but now I’m down to a few papers. NO group work, yay! No matter what is going on in my life though, the writing is always there.

At the wedding I met some kind-of famous people. One is a writer: songs and now a screenplay (ya baby), and the other is a singer. You know his band, you know her songs. There was a little bit of buzz around the two. Not a big deal, but a little bit of, “hey that’s the singer from that band___ , they sing that one song___ and she wrote it and she is in the video.” I started thinking about the buzz. First of all, they are both super nice people. So number one, who doesn’t want to be around people like that? And I think there is a small bit of being able to tell your friends you met someone famous that draws people into the circle of fame. As for me, I’m not cool enough to know the name of the band that plays that one song that I really like until someone basically draws me a diagram with arrows and circles, since I am very much in my own little world most of the time. But hey, cool, the arrows and circles point to some fame, some money, some livin’ the dream. Your song on the radio and everyone knows the words. That’s cool. That’s what it’s all about. Which leads me to the real theory of the buzz. People want to be around that success, because deep down they’ve got their own little dream and rubbing shoulders with someone who persevered and made it is inspiring. Maybe they’ve let their dream go, so they grab on to the ride of this other person.  Now I’m more talking about those crazy stalker type fans, not those who are like, “hey, cool, I love your work.”

On this wedding trip I also read The Evolving Self by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi. I had to read it for school – well, I had to read a theorist and Csiks is my new favorite. I’ve got a little Cskis worship, to be honest.  And Martin Seligman. Cool dude.

Library book sale today! Here’s my wish list:

Crime and Punishment

The Kite Runner

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

The Help

The Journalist and the Murderer

The 13th Tale

Stink Moody (any)

Ready Freddy (any)

Neil Gaiman (any)

Kant, Seligman, Gillgan, my hero Mihaly

So sometimes the conversations I hear  at school that make me laugh.

Student 1: It’s like the circle of life, ya know?

Student 2: ya…

Student 1: It’s like, you let me use your test, and someday I let someone else use my test…. It’s all totally cyclical , ya know.

Student 2: oh, totally.

Me, in my head: Dude, that is not the circle of life, it’s cheating, lame ass. I have learned that nobody wants my unsolicited advice though. That’s a good lesson in times like these.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nataie permalink
    11/04/2010 5:37 pm

    Yay….I get soooooo giddy when I get a email that you have wrote a new blog. Yes, I am truley that lame lol. It is awesome that you got to meet some famous people. You know I always find it interesting when there is a famous person around ” normal ” people. In the end I guess they are just like us, just with a lot more money. Hope you had a blast and hope that you get some of your book wish list to come true. Love you!

  2. 11/04/2010 5:37 pm

    Ooh, you’ve given me a few more books to add to my list–thanks! Have you read “The Tower, the Zoo and the Tortoise” yet? Love it–quirky, sweet, sad. Oh, and please go hug my dear daughter–she could use it. And keep on writing; you inspire me, Tami!

Leave a Reply

