Skip to content

Eddie Boone, Checkin’ In (Name that Movie…)

09/08/2010

Star-bellied sneetches are the best sneetches on the beaches…

Movie Quote:

Harry Burns: There are two kinds of women: high maintenance and low maintenance.
Sally Albright: Which one am I?
Harry Burns: You’re the worst kind. You’re high maintenance but you think you’re low maintenance.

Every movie has the same plot map. Everything is going along fine, conflict happens (a move to a new city, death of best friend, giant meteor headed towards New York City), character deals with it heroically enough usually. Pretty soon, amidst the crazy version of the characters complicated life,  an event or moment occurs in which the character feels like giving up. Screenwriters call it the “all is lost” or “dark night of the soul” moment. It is filed under False Defeat in the big flow chart of screenwriting, which I guess is good, the false part I mean. What I’ve noticed is that often the one person of color in the movie shows up to lift the main character out of his darkness and show him the way.  Why is that? Anyway, then the main character sucks it up and the dénouement, the resolution, the life-is-happier-now -and-don’t-we-all-feel-inspired-ending happens. Do you ever feel like your life follows the format of a movie? I’m sure I am a slight bit egocentric, like I am expecting a soundtrack to my life, but now and then I see a parallel, that’s all I’m saying. I bet you could find one too.

Lately I’ve been thinking about imperfection.  Actually, I’ve been mentally accepting imperfection. It’s not that I think I’m perfect, it’s just that I really want to be. And so here comes my own “dark night of the soul” moment with school. I dropped a class, which was the best thing for me to do but still it felt a little bit like quitting. Not very perfect. I keep going back to the webcampus to see if other people are as traumatized as I was about the amount of work this instructor required. They are. So that makes me feel better. Anyway, as far as my other two classes go,  I am trying to focus on the information, and forget about grades and the fact that nearly every person in my classes seems to already know everything. I think they are faking it. You can’t bullshit a bullshitter, right?

Cool book:  http://www.amazon.com/Finding-Flow-Psychology-Engagement-Masterminds/dp/0465024114

Check this out: http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/4.09/czik.html

Cool Blog:  http://liveboldandbloom.com/

Project pending, gotta use this blog as a multimedia forum. So that will be fun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

