Skip to content

Week 1 Update

08/26/2010

I love my class of course. I get over that initial freak out in a millisecond, once the teacher starts talking and I realize I am in the right classroom. Isn’t that funny, I still worry about that, showing up in the wrong room. I did that my freshman year of high school and I was too embarrassed to leave so I stayed and almost got detention over it, and I’m pretty much traumatized now. Online classes are okay, but at least I’ve got one lecture course. The nerd in me really likes to be on campus. I will just admit that on the first day I do play a little game called Try to Guess Who the Most Annoying Person Will Be (clearly it’s not me, duh).  So I played that game during introductions. While I was playing I started thinking, why do I have to be that girl? Why can’t I be all accepting and loving kindness and like if Mother Theresa and Gandhi Had a Love Child and It Was Me about it?

What qualities does the annoying person have anyway? I can answer the question easily enough. The one who has a personal story to match every bullet on the power point. You know how sometimes, you’ll be singing a song really crappily, and the person standing closest to you says, “Hey, who sings that song?” and you say Katy Perry and they say, “Ya, let’s keep it that way.”? It’s kind of like that in a way. The person with a gazillion interesting stories would possibly be fun at a party, but after a while I want the person who is standing in the front of the room and has the PhD and 30 years of experience in the field to talk. The other person I really have issues with is the Full Disclosure person. She shares extremely personal stuff and sometimes cries. This is really my own issue, but I don’t quite know what to do with myself when this happens. Look at her, look away, reach out and pat her shoulder, don’t know, awkward! I’d make a terrible therapist, clearly. I am going to try to be understanding of these two people, Full Disclosure and Gazillion Stories, and not exhale loudly or make any kind of exasperated faces. Ooh, and I have fun projects! Can’t wait. And no group work. Hallelujah.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nataie permalink
    08/31/2010 3:30 pm

    I laughed all the way through this post! Your writting is so honest that it is funny! I can totally agree. I sometimes wonder why I am the girl that will totally sit and be like I can’t believe this person is doing such and such. Honestly it is a ILLNESS! I have a new girl at work who is totally the ANNOYING girl! She commits all of the annoying girl crimes. UGH! I will try to have patience, kindness, and only nice things to say! Hope you enjoy your classes! Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

